Thursday, September 6, 2018

Kathleen Kennedy To Receive An Honorary Oscar At The Governors Awards

By: Benjamin Hart

Kathleen Kennedy has one of the most amazing resumes of any producer in Hollywood, having her hands in the creation of such classic films as Raiders Of The Lost Ark, Jurassic Park, E.T., Back To The Future, The Goonies and many, many others. And that was all before she became President of Lucasfilm and produced the four newest Star Wars films(and countless others to come).

Kennedy has kept up a most impressive track record over many years, and now it appears the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will finally be fully recognizing her accomplishments. Tonight the Academy announced that Kennedy, alongside her husband Frank Marshall, and others, will be given honorary Oscars at the upcoming Governors Awards.

The full list of honorees includes composer Lalo Schifrin, publicist Marvin Levy, and actress Cicely Tyson, along with Kennedy and Marshall. Schifrin, Levy, and Tyson will all receive honorary awards, while Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall will be presented with the the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award.

After the news broke Frank Marshall tweeted a thankful message in response:

All awards will be presented at the 10th annual Governors Awards during a ceremony held at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center on November 18th. To read more about the awards and their recipients, be sure to visit the Academy's website!

Source: Oscars
Via: Variety

Follow The Star Wars Underworld on Twitter @TheSWU for more updates about this story and other breaking Star Wars news.


Post a Comment

This site is not endorsed by Lucasfilm Ltd. or Disney and is intended for entertainment and information purposes only. The official Star Wars site can be found at Star Wars, the Star Wars logo, all names and pictures of Star Wars characters, vehicles and any other Star Wars related items are registered trademarks and/or copyrights of Lucasfilm Ltd., or their respective trademark and copyright holders. All original content of this site, both graphical and textual, is the intellectual property of The Star Wars Underworld - unless otherwise indicated.
Site template © 2011 Supported by PsPrint Emeryville and