Tuesday, January 24, 2017

'Rogue One' Nominated for Two Academy Awards

By: Dominic Jones

The list of nominees for the 89th Academy Awards was unveiled this week and Rogue One: A Star Wars Story picked up two nominations.  The film was nominated for Best Visual Effects and Best Sound Mixing. Last year, The Force Awakens picked up five nomination and zero wins (though C-3PO, R2-D2, and BB-8 showed up at the ceremony).  Star Wars hasn't won an Oscar since 1980 when The Empire Strikes Back won for Best Sound Mixing (though Return of the Jedi did receive a special achievement Oscar for visual effects).

The complete list of nominees in Best Visual Effects and Best Sound Mixing,
Deepwater Horizon
Doctor Strange
The Jungle Book
Kubo and the Two Strings
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Hacksaw Ridge
La La Land
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi

Congratulations to the crew of Rogue One on the nominations!  We hope to see Star Wars take home the gold!

Follow The Star Wars Underworld on Twitter @TheSWU for more updates about this story and other breaking Star Wars news.


The Black Cult Spain said...

Post a Comment

This site is not endorsed by Lucasfilm Ltd. or Disney and is intended for entertainment and information purposes only. The official Star Wars site can be found at www.starwars.com. Star Wars, the Star Wars logo, all names and pictures of Star Wars characters, vehicles and any other Star Wars related items are registered trademarks and/or copyrights of Lucasfilm Ltd., or their respective trademark and copyright holders. All original content of this site, both graphical and textual, is the intellectual property of The Star Wars Underworld - unless otherwise indicated.
Site template © 2011 DheTemplate.com. Supported by PsPrint Emeryville and homeinbayarea.com