Thursday, January 14, 2016

'The Force Awakens' Nominated For Five Oscars

By: Benjamin Hart

The list of nominees for the 88th annual Academy Awards are in and Star Wars: Episode VII - The Force Awakens has been honored with a total of five Oscar nominations. Although The Force Awakens did not make it into the much sought after "Best Picture" category, it did receive several nods in technical tiers such as music, sound and visual effects. The full list of nominations are:

  • Best Original Score
  • Best Sound Editing
  • Best Sound Mixing
  • Best Film Editing
  • Best Visual Effects

The last Star Wars film to be nominated for an Oscar was 2005's Revenge Of The Sith. If The Force Awakens wins, it will be the first Star Wars film since 1983's Return Of The Jedi take home an Oscar.

Congratulations to the crew behind The Force Awakens and may the Force be with them!

Source: Oscars

Follow The Star Wars Underworld on Twitter @TheSWU for more updates about this story and other breaking Star Wars news.


Unknown said...

Glitchipedia said...

Anonymous said...

SquidRepo said...

Álvaro Zúñiga said...

Unknown said...

Unknown said...

Post a Comment

This site is not endorsed by Lucasfilm Ltd. or Disney and is intended for entertainment and information purposes only. The official Star Wars site can be found at Star Wars, the Star Wars logo, all names and pictures of Star Wars characters, vehicles and any other Star Wars related items are registered trademarks and/or copyrights of Lucasfilm Ltd., or their respective trademark and copyright holders. All original content of this site, both graphical and textual, is the intellectual property of The Star Wars Underworld - unless otherwise indicated.
Site template © 2011 Supported by PsPrint Emeryville and