Saturday, October 10, 2015

'Aftermath' Parts II & III, 'New Republic: Bloodline' Novels & More Revealed At NYCC

By: Benjamin Hart

This week New York Comic Con has been providing us with lots of awesome Star Wars news. On Thursday Star Wars Rebels took center stage with reveals from it's second season, and today Del Rey has stolen the spotlight with reveals of several new books. During the "Journey To The Force Awakens" panel they announced three new novels and two short stories.

First off, they revealed that author Delilah S. Dawson will be writing an Ebook short story titled "The Perfect Weapon". It is scheduled for release in November of this year and will focus on a character named Bazine who also appears in The Force Awakens.

Secondly, it was announced that Alan Dean Foster will be writing a short story, titled Star Wars: Bait, that will appear in issue #162 of Star Wars Insider. It will relate to The Force Awakens and will star an alien character named Grumgarr from the film.

Grumgarr & Bazine in the The Force Awakens SDCC behind the scenes reel
It was also announced that author Landry Walker would be writing an ebook anthology of short stories about aliens in The Force Awakens, which will be released on December 1st.  The anthology will be titled  Star Wars: Tales from a Galaxy far, far away: Aliens and features four short stories.  The stories are titled, “High Noon on Jakku,” “All Creatures Great and Small,” “The Face of Evil,” and “The Crimson Corsair and the Treasure of Count Dooku.”  The book will be available in print in April 2017.  The print version will feature two more stories.

Furthermore, Claudia Gray, who recently became well know among Star Wars fans for authoring Star Wars: Lost Stars, will be moving on to write a new novel set six 6 prior to The Force Awakens titled "New Republic: Blood Line". It will be released sometime in 2016. You can see the preliminary cover for the novel below(Courtesy of Jedi-Bibliothek):

And last, but certainly not least, the titles of the second and third parts of Chuck Wendig's Aftermath trilogy were revealed. "Aftermath: Life Debt" is slated for release in the Summer of 2016 and "Aftermath: Empire's End" is coming in 2017. The preliminary covers for both novels were unveiled at the Del Rey booth, which you can see below(photo courtesy of Lillian Skye):

Very exciting! Looks like we will have plenty of great reading material to consume over the next few months and years! You can check out our full recap of the Journey To The Force Awakens publishing panel by clicking here!

Sources: Del Rey (Facebook), (Twitter)

Follow The Star Wars Underworld on Twitter @TheSWU for more updates about this story and other breaking Star Wars news.


Anonymous said...

Anonymous said...

Daniel said...

Post a Comment

This site is not endorsed by Lucasfilm Ltd. or Disney and is intended for entertainment and information purposes only. The official Star Wars site can be found at Star Wars, the Star Wars logo, all names and pictures of Star Wars characters, vehicles and any other Star Wars related items are registered trademarks and/or copyrights of Lucasfilm Ltd., or their respective trademark and copyright holders. All original content of this site, both graphical and textual, is the intellectual property of The Star Wars Underworld - unless otherwise indicated.
Site template © 2011 Supported by PsPrint Emeryville and